CHC Major Awards & All-Conference Teams Announced

CHC Major Awards & All-Conference Teams Announced

MARSHFIELD, Mass. – The Colonial Hockey Conference (CHC) announced the recipients of the league's major award winners, All-Conference and All-Rookie Teams as selected by the league's seven head coaches.

Chelsea Blackburn (Westland, Mich.) of Stevenson University was named Player of the Year after leading the CHC with 12 goals in league play. Her 23 total goals on the year rank fifth in the country. Blackburn also tied for the league-lead with three game-winning goals.

Morrisville State's Vanessa Klimpke (Winnipeg, Manitoba) earned Rookie of the Year accolades after leading the CHC in scoring with 17 points. Her ten goals in league action were good for second in the conference. The first year forward notched 32 total points on the season, pacing her at 15th nationally. 

After posting a 1.57 goals against average in her freshman campaign, Julia Aberg (Stockholm, Sweden) of Johnson & Wales University was selected as Goaltender of the Year. The freshman ranked second in the CHC with a .956 save percentage while notching 240 saves.  

After guiding Endicott College to the CHC regular season crown, Andy McPhee was voted Coach of the Year by his peers. The Gulls earned the number one overall seed in the postseason tournament in just their second season as a varsity program. Endicott led the CHC in scoring defense, surrendering a miniscule 0.83 goals per game to their opponents, while their offense ranked second, scoring 3.00 goals per game.

Joining Klimpke on the first team is fellow Morrisville State teammate, Kaitlyn Schlake (Nampa, Idaho) who was named a first team defender after ranking sixth in the league in defenseman scoring with five points.

Rounding out the first team is a duo from SUNY Canton in Tess Adams (Calgary, Alta.) and Noelle Niemiec (Staten Island, N.Y.). Adams ranked fifth in the CHC with 14 points on ten goals and four assists while Niemiec's seven points were tied for the league-lead in defenseman scoring.

Below is a complete list of the 2016-2017 All-Conference and All-Rookie Teams.


Forward         Chelsea Blackburn, Stevenson University
Forward         Vanessa Klimpke, Morrisville State College
Forward         Tess Adams, SUNY Canton
Defense          Kaitlyn Schlake, Morrisville State College
Defense          Noelle Niemiec, SUNY Canton
Goaltender     Julia Aberg, Johnson & Wales University


Forward         Renee Stevenson, Morrisville State College
Forward         Lexi Klein, Endicott College
Forward         Monica Pozuc, Stevenson University
Defense          Ellen Carter, Endicott College
Defense          Natalie Rosendahl, Stevenson University
Goaltender     Vendela Jonsson, Endicott College


Forward*        Maggie Layo, Endicott College
Forward*        Jade Meier, Endicott College
Forward*        Kanekaroroks McComber, Morrisville State College
Forward*        Kathy Ensor, Johnson & Wales University
Defense          Ciara Lark, Morrisville State College
Goaltender     Brooke Susac, SUNY Canton


Forward         Vanessa Klimpke, Morrisville State College
Forward         Jillian Gibbs, Endicott College
Forward         Jade Meier, Endicott College
Defense          Nicole Demers, Endicott College
Defense          Sydney Jordan, SUNY Canton
Goaltender*    Julia Aberg, Johnson & Wales University
Goaltender*    Brooke Susac, SUNY Canton

*Indicates additional players added due to a tie in voting.